Habemus Papam!

ImageHabemus Papam!

The day that the conclave has started, I was really excited to know if the cardinal electors have made their choice. Actually, I am not the only one whose excited, my whole family were. That’s why we were watching the news from time to time. Here in the Philippines, the time that the smoke would come out from the chimney was 2:00 am. Because I was excited, I tried my best to be awake to see the sacred moment, and at the same time, I am able to stay awake for me to study for my exams. I admit, I was not able to study well, because from time to time, I checked the T.V. hoping for a live coverage. But in the end, my eyes could not bear it anymore. I decided to sleep and hoping that when I wake up, a new father of the Roman Catholic Church would be chosen.

Exactly at 5:30 am I woke up. I turned the T.V. on and BOOM! “Habemus Papam Franciscum!” a new Pope was chosen. I was really excited to know who was the chosen one, I watched the T.V. with my family all morning until 8:00 am not minding that I have an examination to prepare to. It’s because I know, I can do it. And all was worth it; now, I know at least a little of our new Pope. I felt happiness to be honest, and that led me to write these words – “Habemus Papam!” at the back page of my book which I was studying for an exam… This just serves as my reminder that I became a witness of history in the making.

God bless us all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

